theoryofmind
My ultra-personal inner monologue

Racism is a vicious circle

One of the best reasons to have emigrated from South Africa is racism. It is a beautiful country, mostly because it’s still the home of all my friends and some family.

But racism is a problem. Despite having had democratic elections nearly 12 years ago now, people on both sides are still obsessed with racism – in different guises. Everything has a racial connection.

I come from an exceptionally liberal and unorthodox home. Both my parents are academics and were involved in the ‘struggle’ in different ways. Today I am not in South Africa any more because I am a young, white male. I have young children, who also are unfortunate enough to be white.

I am an exile from my own country because of the colour of my skin. How ironic is that? Who ever thought a white man would be exiled because of his skin colour. Quite funny, actually.

This specific post was prompted by an article I have just read concerning the struggle of some exceptionally gifted white boys in obtaining university entrance. I normally refuse to read any news about South Africa, and have only read about three (all of them bad). It was quite by chance I came across this story at all.

No doubt I will write some more on this unnecessary subject.

2 Responses to “Racism is a vicious circle”

  1. That is not the picture I got when I lived in SA. My partner and I (who are black)were lucky to find work 12 years ago when we emigrated, and I believe that we found work because of our skills. The whites we interacted with still had their work and their standards. Yes, you are right that there was (and still is) an obsession with racism, to the point that I remembered thinking how paranoid the whites were. Blacks cannot get the work because they dont have the skills and it isn’t because of racism. Perhaps things have shifted slightly in favour of black people, but you guys still hold the economic power……

  2. PS. I have just finished reading Damon Galgut’s novel – The Good Doctor, that was nominated for the Man Booker prize 2003. And again, puts forward this incredible view that the white man is now marginalised and serves no purpose. Eerie!


Leave a Reply

